Harry Potter et la magique des livres audios

Final part of my very effective French-learning combo of last few months is listening to audiobooks. Not just any audiobooks, though, as the title of this post implies.

Why Harry Potter in French? In general, books are at their best in the original language, so why not find something originally French to listen to?

Starting to listen to audiobooks in a new language is tricky. I have tried listening to a couple of originally French children’s books before, with bad results. Although they probably were simple enough language, my brain just was not adjusted to understanding French at that speed. The normal speed French is spoken at, that is. The French narrators (at least in children’s books!) seem to always read in a very lively manner, changing their voice a lot – muttering, growling, whispering, reading even faster when depicting anger or excitement – making it totally incomprehensible for a beginner.

The magic of Harry Potter books as a perfect language learning tool for me is that I have read them a ridiculous amount of times, both in Finnish and in English. So many times that I practically know them by heart.

When I first started to listen to the first one, “Harry Potter à l’école des sorciers”, at first I did struggle. It sounded pretty much like “Aprés blahblahblah Harry blahblahblah baguette magique et blahblahblah, dit-il.” But even though I could only catch a word here and another there, I could still follow the story, as my memory was filling in the missing parts. At first I got tired soon and could only listen to it for five minutes at a time.

Pretty soon it got better. I started to pick up words I’d just written in my Goldlist or structures I’d run into in Babbel, catch whole sentences and even figure out the meaning of words that I heard repeatedly I didn’t know before.

Now, three and a half books and 45 hours later, my listening has improved dramatically, and I’m really looking forward to the audiobook moments. Any bus ride, waiting time or longer walk passes happily with ‘Arry Potter et ses amis.

My vocabulary sure has grown. Of course, some of the words are not the most useful ones for everyday life: baguette magique, balai, moldu, cape d’invisibilité… But many times an actually useful word or a whole phrase gets stuck in my head after hearing it in the book, and I keep repeating it in my head and trying to think of situations where I could use it.

I can recommend to anyone who tends to read their favourite books again and again, to try out how they sound in another language. You know you’re going to enjoy the story, and it’s really amusing and interesting to hear how the familiar characters sound like in another language.

If I manage to find the rest of the audiobooks somewhere, I think I’m going to listen through the whole series. That would mean almost a hundred hours of listening. I think after that much practice I should be able to follow a book I haven’t read before!

One thought on “Harry Potter et la magique des livres audios

Leave a Reply

